## UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 113 Board of Education Office Sabetha, KS

## REGULAR MEETING MINUTES, Monday, May 2, 2011,

President Roger Brockhoff called the meeting to order at 8:50 PM following the academic banquet at Sabetha High School. Roger Brockhoff, Brent Lortscher Sandy Aberle, Cheryl Wenger, Julia Alfers, Mary Jane Ronnebaum, and Ed Reznicek were present; also present were Superintendent Dennis Stones, Board Clerk Dr. Volora Hanzlicek and others who are listed on the attached sheet that becomes a part of these minutes.

Additions to the agenda from Mr. Brockhoff included adding a resignation from John Latham – WAC custodian, and Chelsea Loeder – WAC music teacher. Added to item 8 was a personal leave request for May 19 from Francine Haverkamp and May 16 from Jacque Stallbaumer. A motion was made by Sandy Aberle and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Mary Jane Ronnebaum to approve the opening business as amended. Motion carried 7-0.

Mr. Stones stated that in the resignations section that Kathi Novotny was listed as Junior Class sponsor and that should be Sophomore Class sponsor. A motion was made by Brent Lortscher and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Julia Alfers to approve the consent agenda as amended. Motion carried 7-0.

Included in the consent agenda:

- A. Approve minutes for April 4, 2011 regular meeting.
- B. Hear Clerk's report. Approve it.
- C. Approve payment of bills in the amount of \$304,226.61.
- D. Approve payment of bills for the bond issue of \$305,512.97.
- E. Payment for April payroll in the amount of \$721,646.61.
- F. Resignations: Paige Meyer Asst. GBB coach at Axtell, Sandy Patterson as Cheer Sponsor at Wetmore, Donna Koch as Jr. Class sponsor at Axtell, Rhonda Heinen as Jr. Class sponsor at Axtell, Marie Nightingale as instructional support at Wetmore, Kathi Novotny as Soph. Class sponsor at Axtell, Wayne Segenhagen as bus driver at Wetmore, Elizabeth Pierce as Spanish teacher at SHS and Betty Rottinghaus as head cook at Bern. All effective the end of this school year. A request from Jacqueline Olberding for a leave of absence effective April15, 2011.
- G. Accept donations from Lukert Chiropractic and Wellness for \$50.00, CJ foods for \$25.00, Bern faculty for \$109.66, and Koch & Company \$100.00.

Sabetha High School Student Council 2012 Officers addressed the board. Students included: Kayla Herl, Emily Baker, Courtney Edelman, Ashley Schmelzle, and Trevin Edelman.

The following principals updated the board on events in their buildings: Matt Garber, David Schmitz, Todd Evans, Brian Rottinghaus, Bob Bartkoski, Tom Palmer. Mr. Schnacker presented his report in writing.

Deb Ronnebaum was ill so Axtell community will report at a later date. Stuart Schneider was present to share an update for the Bern community.

Paige Ralston from Schneider Electric was present to share an update on the cost savings from the old USD #441 conservation contract. The trend is showing a positive trend in savings for utilities currently. Projections are positive.

Brandy Edelman with Parents as Teachers was present to share with the board a brief description of her program. The district currently serves 36 families.

A motion was made by Sandy Aberle and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Ed Reznicek to approve the request from Sabetha FFA to attend the KS State FFA convention as proposed and the Bern NHS for transportation to KC on May 31. Motion carried 7-0.

A motion was made by Sandy Aberle and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Brent Lortscher to approve the personal leave for Eric DePew on May 27. In the same motion she said that the following are approved contingent on suitable subs being found: Kristin Strathman, May 25; Christine Krebs, May 19; Brent Hayden, May 19; Christa Schuette, May19; Elysia McGill, May 13; Rachel Bloom, May 13; Denise Huning, May 27; Sonja Stoll, May 12 and May 24-26; Barbara Clowe, May 19; Cindy Osterhaus, May 19; Francine Haverkamp, May 19; and Jacque Stallbaumer, May 16. Motion carried 7-0.

A motion was made by Julia Alfers and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Sandy Aberle to approve the athletic training services with Nemaha County Hospital for Axtell and Bern for \$1,750. Motion carried 7-0.

A motion was made by Sandy Aberle and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Julia Alfers to approve the USD #113 graduation requirements for the incoming freshmen of 2015. Also that the graduation requirements include that personal finance may be substituted for consumer education. Motion carried 7-0.

A motion was made by Sandy Aberle and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Mary Jane Ronnebaum to approve the request for an out of district student to attend Sabetha Elementary provided that the parents provide transportation. Motion carried 7-0.

A motion was made by Mary Jane Ronnebaum and  $2^{nd}$  by Cheryl Wenger to accept the election results as certified by the County. Motion carried 7-0.

A motion was made by Julia Alfers and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Ed Reznicek to approve the Board of Education meeting dates as presented and the graduation dates as presented for the 2011-12 school year. Motion carried 7-0.

At 9:57 PM a motion was made by Julia Alfers and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Brent Lortscher to go into executive session at 10:00 for 30 minutes for non-elected personnel. Mr. Stones, Dr. Hanzlicek, Mr. Bartkoski, Mr. Rottinghaus, Mr. Garber, Mr. Schmitz, Mr. Evans, and Mr. Palmer were asked to join the session. Motion carried 7-0.

At 10:30 PM a motion was made by Cheryl Wenger and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Julia Alfers to extend the session for 30 minutes to discuss non-elected personnel. Motion carried 7-0.

At 11:00 PM a motion was made by Brent Lortscher and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Mary Jane Ronnebaum to extend the session for 30 minutes to discuss non-elected personnel. Motion carried 7-0.

At 11:30 PM a motion was made by Julia Alfers and  $2^{nd}$  by Cheryl Wenger to return to regular session. Motion carried 7-0.

A motion was made by Sandy Aberle and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Julia Alfers to set a special meeting on May 18<sup>th</sup> at 6:30 PM at the Board of Education office for contracts. Motion carried 7-0.

Roger Brockhoff read the reminders/information. Discussion followed on New Board Member workshop.

At 11:37 a motion was made by Brent Lortscher and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Sandy Aberle to adjourn. Motion carried 7-0.

Board President		Board Clerk
Board President	A V	Board Clerk
	$\langle \lambda \rangle$	