UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 113

Board of Education 1619 S. Old US Highway 75 Sabetha, KS 66534 Minutes of the September 10, 2018 Regular Board Meeting Meeting was held at Board of Education Office

Board President, Ed Reznicek, called the meeting to order at 6:00 PM. Dr. Jeff DeMint, Ann Shaughnessy, Kathy Lippert, Ed Reznicek, Kent Saylor and Jim Scoby were present; also present were Superintendent, Todd Evans, and Board Clerk, Carol Kuckelman and others who are listed on the attached sheet that becomes a part of these minutes. Leslie Scoby arrived at the meeting at 6:25 PM.

Ed Reznicek presented the following changes to the agenda: Consent Agenda – Item C – Added: \$511,845.31 as the September amount for bills; Item G – Added: Resignation from Briana Uphaus as AHS Forensics sponsor.

Motion by Dr. Jeff DeMint, seconded by Ann Shaughnessy to approve the agenda as amended. Motion carried 6-0.

Consent Agenda:

- A. Approve minutes from the August 13, 2018 regular Board meeting.
- B. Approve minutes from the August 22, 2018 Special Board meeting.
- C. Approve payment of September bills for the amount of \$511,845.31.
- D. Approve August payroll for the amount of \$162,003.51.
- E. Approve August non-lump sum for the amount of \$284,794.80.
- F. Approve Site Council members: SHS Site Council: Anna Cochenour, Briana Evans, Connie Herbster, David Glynn, Vern Orton, Patti Pearson, Terri Terrell, Rick Smith, Sheri Wessel; SES Site Council: Sara Toedman, Kara Georg, Jennifer Herrmann, Rita Menold, Brandy Edelman, Amy Keim, Justin Sallman, Brent Scott, Trent Strahm, Lindsey Willey; APS Site Council: JaysonTynon, Erika Buessing, Julia Fischer, Michelle Detweiler, Ben Sunnenberg, Carla Strathman, Elizabeth Kostal, Jenny Mathewson; WAC Site Council: Rick Schnacker, Cheyenne Strathman, Leigh Ann Schultejans, Michelle Cochran, Keri Strathman, Anissa Bloom, Dean Osterhaus, Jill Rowland, Bob Carson; SMS Site Council: Matt Garber, Christene Krebs, Tresa Burger, Tara Hartter, Tammy Hinton, Ronna Montgomery, Dana Michael, Tara Wikle, Luci Goodman, Shelly Schmelzle, Wendy Menold.
- G. Resignations: Melvin Baker, AJH Football; Tony Howser, AJH Track; Briana Uphaus, Forensics.
- H. Contracts: David Remmers, P/T AD at SMS.
- I. Personal day requests requiring BOE approval: Cindy Wiltz, Elysia McGill.

Motion by Dr. Jeff DeMint, seconded by Jim Scoby to approve the consent agenda as amended. Motion carried 6-0.

Anna Cochenour, SHS STUCO President, updated the board on upcoming activities and events. Dr. Jeff DeMint reported for the USD 113 Foundation and wanted to remind the staff that the Appleseed Grant application deadline of October 1st.

Jennifer Gatz and Lisa Suhr gave a presentation on KESA using iPads to show the board some of the newest technology our teachers and staff are using in the classrooms while educating the board on ongoing district accreditation process.

Mr. Evans reported to the board on enrollment, SHS track project along with other items.

At 7:13 PM – Motion by Kathy Lippert, seconded by Dr. Jeff DeMint to enter into executive session to discuss confidential legal issues under the exception for matters which would be deemed privileged in the Attorney-Client relationship under KOMA for 15 minutes and return to this room at 7:28 PM. Motion carried 7-0. Present in the executive session were board members, Superintendent Todd Evans and Board Attorney Martin Mishler.

At 7:28 PM – Motion by Dr. Jeff DeMint, seconded by Kathy Lippert to return to regular session. Motion carried 7-0.

At 7:28 PM – Martin Mishler left the meeting.

No action was taken following the executive session.

Emily Koenig, Ekoe Architecture, gave a presentation to the board regarding the Axtell office relocation project. A committee has been formed to assist with the final design of the plans. The committee includes Jayson Tynon, Rachael Deters, Ben Sunnenberg and Cindy Kaster.

Emily Koenig left the meeting at 7:50 PM.

Motion by Kathy Lippert, seconded by Dr. Jeff DeMint to approve the textbook fee waiver requests for those who qualify for free lunches as presented and to authorize Mr. Evans to approve future FY19 requests. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Kathy Lippert, seconded by Leslie Scoby to accept the gift of \$3725.00 from the Eagle Booster Club for instructional and office supplies for the Axtell School. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Dr. Jeff DeMint, seconded by Kathy Lippert to approve the Strategic Plan as amended (date change) which will include a copy of the District Viability Plan. Motion carried 7-0.

A discussion was held regarding the back wall of the stage at WAC which is a brick wall. Mr. Schnacker received 2 bids to repair the mortar to stabilize the wall. The board requested more information to be brought to the October meeting.

At 8:21 PM – Motion by Kathy Lippert, seconded by Dr. Jeff DeMint to enter into executive session for the intent of discussion of confidential student information under the exception relating to actions adversely or favorably affecting a student under KOMA at 8:22 PM and will return to regular session at 8:32 PM. Board members, Mr. Evans and SHS Principal David Glynn were present in the executive session. Motion carried 7-0.

At 8:32 PM – Motion by Dr. Jeff DeMint, seconded by Kathy Lippert to return to regular session. Motion carried 7-0.

There was no action following the executive session.

At 8:32 PM a motion was made by Kathy Lippert, seconded	by Dr. Jeff DeMint to adjourn. Motion carried 7-0.
Board President	Deputy Board Clerk